Skip to content

… Through a Motorcycle Wreck

June 21, 2012

Of course this analogy was coming! A week ago today, I made a rookie mistake and wrecked my motorcycle. 550 pounds landed on my right leg, and I scratched up my shoulder, hip and arm in the process. In this post, we won’t be “Finding Christ Through a Motorcycle Wreck” per say, but rather in my (very slow!) recovery. I have to preface this with one more thing: I don’t rely on anyone. I pay my own bills, work for everything I have ever had and am self-sufficient in every sense. I live alone, so I kind of have to be haha.

After coming back from the hospital on crutches, I quickly realised that I simply cannot do this alone. Any of it. The simplest of tasks requires a massive amount of strenuous effort and quite often help from others. While I am learning a ton about humility in this ordeal, I feel the Lord is really pressing on me about relying on Him (Luke 12:6-7). He cares for me so deeply; He is the perfect Father according to James 1:17 and desires to give good gifts. This is what He has done this week for me! Even though I’m utterly too stubborn to ask for help, family and friends swarmed around me by being the hands and feet of Christ in my time of need.

My dad came over to clean my apartment and make sure I was prepared for the week. My mom, grandma and aunt came and did my grocery shopping and cooked for me. My brother humbly helped me wash my injured leg while in the shower as I couldn’t reach it. A buddy brought me food and helped clean, a new friend came just to hang out for a while, my Sunday school class in unison bombarded me with texts of prayer and encouragement, my other brother and niece came down to visit and with food, my niece kissed my “bobos” and drew me a few sweet pictures, and a relatively new and very dear friend did more than enough by taking me to the hospital, bringing food several times and always was there providing encouragement and prayer on my behalf as well as some much-needed laughter and company. Thank you to all of you!!!

That list can be much more detailed as the people in my life are just amazing! They all did it without complaining, without expectation of something in return. They did it out of love. That really hit me today as I was thinking about it. Christ is so necessary in our everyday functionality of life! He is there when we’re healthy, poor, broken-hearted, over-joyed, sick, and every other emotion or situation in which you may find yourself (Hebrews 13:5)! Psalm 28:7 proclaims that He is our strength in this life, and how true that is! Just as all my friends and family acted in love, so did He when He gave everything to us and for us. Now, through the Holy Spirit that the Christ sent to comfort and guide us, on Him now we can rely (John 14:25). He will be our everything. As Christians, it is in Him that we “…live, move and have our being” (Acts 17:28). He will guide every facet of our lives if we let Him. He will pull on the heart-stings of our friends and family to help us in times of need. He will send comfort in times of distress; He will give peace beyond all understanding about any situation you will face (Philippians 4:7).

Even though we may be so stubborn and think we can do it all ourselves…. whether that’s a simple task like cooking or showering or the larger things such as unemployment or serious health issues, He is there for us. It is on Him that we must truly rely. When we allow Him to be involved in our everyday lives, He will create in us a new heart (Ezekiel 36:26) that will be full of love for Him and for our brothers and sisters in Christ. I implore that each of us not allow God to only be in our lives for a couple of hours on Sunday… what a tragedy! He longs to be close to us. As the Creator, the perfect Father, He wants to dwell in our hearts continuously. Make no mistake, dear friends: we were created to worship Him! We do this not just with songs of praise or tithes but with our everyday actions! Worshipping God means acting on love, helping the needy, being His hands and feet, and letting Him be involved in EVERYTHING!

Thanks again to all my support this week given to me through prefect love. For more detailed accounts of how much we need Him and how amazing His love is for us, close this browser and pick up the words of Christ and Paul. Read Galatians for a quick snapshot, Romans for great detail and any of the Gospels for His actual words. I love You and honor You, Lord; bless Your stubborn people and help us to show that Your perfect love is the only thing on which we can truly rely.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment